Staff and Chairs

This is the listing of our IRB Staff and Chairs.  Find the IRB Specialist responsible for your particular CRU/Department below.

The main phone number for the IRB Office is (919) 668-5111.

IRB Staff

  CRU/Department Responsibility

Shani Bizzell
Email: shani.bizzell@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 613-4824
IRB Specialist

 

Dermatology/Pathology
Family Medicine & Community Health
Heart Center
Ob/Gyn

Meredith Hawks, MS
Email: meredith.bond@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5117
Senior IRB Specialist

DOCR
Duke Human Vaccine Institute (DHVI)
Oncology (PI's K-L)
Population Health
Radiology

Karen Carter, CCRP, CIP
Email: karen.carter@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0404
Senior IRB Specialist


DGHI
Pediatrics (PI's A-L)
 

Angelyn Gravely, CIP
Email: angelyn.gravely@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0405
Administrative Reviewer

Medicine (PI’s A-L)

Debbie Hickey
Email: deborah.hickey@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0469
Senior IRB Specialist

Surgery
Neurosurgery
Head and Neck Surgery and Communication Sciences
Urology

Nancy Hight, ACRP-CP
Email: nancy.hight@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-4664
Senior IRB Specialist

 

Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI)
DEPCRU
Emergency Medicine

 

Conal Ho, PhD, CIP
Email: conal.ho@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0465
Administrative Reviewer

Anesthesiology
Campus Oversight
CTSI
Office of Curriculum
Other (no CRU)

Pharmacy

Kayla Keels
Email: kayla.smith@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5118
IRB Specialist


 

Josh Leitner
Email: joshua.leitner@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5112
IRB Specialist


Ophthalmology
Orthopedic Surgery
Pediatrics (PI's M-Z)
School of Nursing

 

Jo Llewellyn
Email: jo.llewellyn@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0467
Administrative Reviewer

Medicine (PI’s M-Z)

Noely Martinez Overby
Email: noely.martinez-overby@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-7552
Senior IRB Specialist

Oncology (PI’s M-Z)

Debbie Reddoch, MA
Email: deborah.reddoch@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-3364
IRB Compliance Specialist

 
 

Shaina Roth, MS
Email: shaina.roth@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-3218
Senior IRB Specialist


Psychiatry
Neurology

Sean Williams
Email: sean.williams2@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-3147
Senior IRB Specialist/Medical Writer

Oncology (PI’s A-J)

Ronna Zimmer, MS, RD
Email: ronna.zimmer@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5119
Director of Compliance 


 

Sharon Ellison, PharmD
Email: sharon.ellison@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5114
Executive Director of DUHS IRB

 

Joseph (SJ) Austin, JD, LLM
Email: steven.austin@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-4384
Director of Research Review

 

Susan Conder
Email: susan.conder@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-5663
Administrative Reviewer

 

Minna Pak
Email: minna.pak@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 668-0463
Director of Extramural IRB Programs

 

IRB Chairs

Patricia L. Ashley, MD, PhD
Email: patricia.ashley@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Dara Barnard, PharmD
Email: dara.barnard@duke.edu
Lead IRB Chair

Carlos De Castro, MD
Email: carlos.decastro@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Louis F. Diehl, MD
Email: louis.diehl@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Mark Donahue, MD, MHS
Email: mark.donahue@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Wanda Lakey, MD, MHS
Email: wanda.lakey@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Paul Lantos, MD
Email: paul.lantos@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Walter Lee, MD
Email: walter.lee@dm.duke.edu
IRB Chair

Richard Lee, MD, MPH
Email: r.lee@duke.edu
IRB Chair

David Ota, MD
Email: david.ota@duke.edu
IRB Chair

C. Egla Rabinovich, MD, MPH
Email: egla.rabinovich@dm.duke.edu
IRB Chair

Moria J. Smoski, PhD
Email: moria.smoski@duke.edu
IRB Chair

Cathy Vaughan, PharmD
Email: cathy.vaughan@duke.edu
IRB Chair